Tags

, ,


I’ve been on this road a long time you see,
I’ve been around,
I’ve come and gone.
I’ve seen you from time to time,
But you never saw me.
I am invisible.
I like to run under everyone’s radar.
I like to hide,
I like to bide my time.
I like to lend a hand,
Then go away in smoke
So no one knows me
So everyone remembers the kindness of a stranger.

Whatever happened to the good old days,
The nice young boys,
The girls with curly hair
And pointy shoes.
Whatever happened to the good old men
And the right old ways
Where everyone helped one another
And when you saw a poor beggar on the side of the street
You gave him a coin, asked him if he needed a ride
And was kind enough to give him a bite to eat.
Whatever happened to the old ways
When someone started crying
You hugged them, and told them “It’ll be alright”
Even if you know it won’t.
And whatever happened to those people
Who did these good deeds with no hope
Of ever being remembered by their name
Just by the good deeds that they done.

I’ve been on this road a long time you see,
I’ve been around,
I’ve come and gone.
I’ve seen you from time to time,
But you never saw me.
I am invisible.
I like to run under everyone’s radar.
I like to hide,
I like to bide my time.
I like to lend a hand,
Then go away in smoke
So no one knows me
So everyone remembers the kindness of a stranger.

Now I understand,
The world ain’t what it used to be.
With nuclear bombs, and terroists, suicide, and depression.
I know the world’s filled with schizophrenics
And sociological-psychopaths who got diseases in their heads.
Whatever happened to the good old morals
That brought our country from the brink of despair
And helped us begin to lead the world to better days.
Whatever happened to the leaders,
The feeders, all we’ve got left is gangsters and woman beaters.
Whatever happened to chivalry, I know it’s still alive
Because a gentleman will always have his manners,
And I know a few, but there ain’t many
I don’t see many of you guys,
And whenever there’s a new face he stands out,
And they get walked on,
And most walk away.

I’ve been on this road a long time you see,
I’ve been around,
I’ve come and gone.
I’ve seen you from time to time,
But you never saw me.
I am invisible.
I like to run under everyone’s radar.
I like to hide,
I like to bide my time.
I like to lend a hand,
Then go away in smoke
So no one knows me
So everyone remembers the kindness of a stranger.

Now boys and girls,
I won’t tell you my name
I want you to remember the kindness of a stranger.
No matter the ups and downs,
The beatings, and the mockery.
If you are a good person,
Don’t ever change.
We need more of you on this lonely street.
We may never know each other’s names
But we’ll know each other’s hearts
Because as different as we all are.
We’ll beat the same.
As long as we remember the kindness of a stranger.

