Tags

, , , , , , ,


30 Seconds to Mars 1

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been sitting here for the last few minutes trying to decide what to type about today. I started trying to add some album artwork to my music page and then realized let’s talk music and how it’s awesome.

I spend a lot of time listening to music. It’s one of the things I like to do when I’m trying to type up something. Be it a short witty poem about how life sucks, or a long and drawn out paragraph about how life rules. I listen to music to get my groove on, to get sleepy, and to just keep me going and going and going. It’s one of those things that just makes everything so much better.

Though then you find those songs that make things terrible. (Remember that song that they played at the end of episodes of American Idol back when Chris was on there? Oh, how that song still haunts me.) You hear those songs and you just want to punch the door (or the closest inanimate object that won’t get you fired. (I’ve had this situation before.) Music is a lot more than just rhythm and melody it’s poetry. Oh, I caught you there didn’t I? Most kids my age I don’t think realize that music is nothing more than poetry put to music. (So imagine if all that stuff in high-school were put to music it’s possible!)

So I like to try and branch out in my musical tastes but I’m constantly enamored with Rock music particularly in the Pop-Rock, Punk-Pop, Alternative genres. Bands like Go Radio, Safetysuit, 30 Seconds to Mars, Blink-182, and many more always tend to catch my ears. Though I’m also known for going into weird territory that most people I know don’t tread into. Metalcore is fun, and so is these guys that call themselves Gov’t Mule (Oh my god they have such a great live show!).

Now being as I am a poet my favorite part of music most always is lyrics. I like to write lyrical poetry sometimes and it is fun to pick apart songs that exist and find lines that inspire newer work. It’s fun to try and see if  I can possibly create something that is close to new as possible. Nothing is new anymore I believe. Everything is recycled. It’s hard to create something that someone else hasn’t created yet. So I’m good at turning cliche’s into do-cliche’s and tri-cliche’s. I like writing something that looks different and is different. So music is a great tool for creating stuff you know? What kind of music makes you get going?

